Author Topic: I have the ultimate solution  (Read 5617 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Scott_Irving

  • ZFP Peace Corps
  • Ur-Quan Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Karma: 7
  • XR Webmaster / PNF Deputy
    • View Profile
    • XR: The Movie Project
I have the ultimate solution
« on: February 18, 2003, 02:54:01 pm »
Build a dos box (I have like 4 or 5, anybody else want me to build them one?), install OS/2 warp 4 and run your dos games in full video and audio glory!

Offline C-myster

  • Hunam
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
  • Gloomweaver=Wir ilome=Ungwelian te
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2003, 10:26:10 pm »
But where can I find a download for this program?
The TransFormars, more then meets the eye.

Offline Scott_Irving

  • ZFP Peace Corps
  • Ur-Quan Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Karma: 7
  • XR Webmaster / PNF Deputy
    • View Profile
    • XR: The Movie Project
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2003, 04:28:04 am »
OS/2 Warp 4?, you'd have to buy it, it's like windows, in the sense that it's not opensource and not free to download.

$284

Though its worth it if you truly intend to run it. It has the stability of Linux with the power of windows all bunched together with the ability to run dos,os/2,win3.1 and linux (some with 3rd party patches) applications. There are also 3rd party patches being made that will allow you to run any win32 bit application, with DirectX emulation. It may be old but it's certainly still being supported by it's users.

http://www-3.ibm.com/software/os/warp/

Offline C-myster

  • Hunam
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
  • Gloomweaver=Wir ilome=Ungwelian te
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2003, 08:28:33 am »
OK lets say that i'm broke...
How can I run SC2 with DosBox 0.57 and get full sound and graphics? I did everything mentiond in the tech board and still no good, plus, the game won't start if I put a "-conf" command, (it says somthing about protected mode games)....

The TransFormars, more then meets the eye.

Offline ErekLich

  • Ur-Quan Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 521
  • Karma: 2
  • One Ring to rule them all, eh you know the rest.
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2003, 08:31:52 am »
What version of Star control do you have?

If you are running the CD version be sure to say starcon.com NOT starcon .exe
Oh God, please don't let me die today... tomorrow would be SO much better...

Offline C-myster

  • Hunam
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
  • Gloomweaver=Wir ilome=Ungwelian te
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2003, 08:34:27 am »
no i have the original, and I am usin the .com
The TransFormars, more then meets the eye.

Offline Scott_Irving

  • ZFP Peace Corps
  • Ur-Quan Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Karma: 7
  • XR Webmaster / PNF Deputy
    • View Profile
    • XR: The Movie Project
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2003, 08:34:54 am »
Being broke I know what that's like...

Chad mentioned something about dosbox not liking protected mode games, but im not sure. Could setup a low end dos machine with the free and opensouce FreeDos which fully duplicates the original dos and a whole lot more. Get it from sourceforge I think.

Offline C-myster

  • Hunam
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
  • Gloomweaver=Wir ilome=Ungwelian te
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2003, 08:46:03 am »
Do you know if it works under win xp by any chance?
The TransFormars, more then meets the eye.

Offline ErekLich

  • Ur-Quan Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 521
  • Karma: 2
  • One Ring to rule them all, eh you know the rest.
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2003, 10:43:58 am »
I'm running XP and Dosbox runs Star Control just fine.

you sure you did everything in the "DOsbox/Starcon 1 woes" thread?
Oh God, please don't let me die today... tomorrow would be SO much better...

Offline Scott_Irving

  • ZFP Peace Corps
  • Ur-Quan Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Karma: 7
  • XR Webmaster / PNF Deputy
    • View Profile
    • XR: The Movie Project
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2003, 11:54:00 am »
Freedos won't run under winxp as it is a full blown dos not an emulated dos or anything like the others. It's a True Dos operating system, could be dual booted with XP probably though

Offline Chad

  • Evil One
  • Ur-Quan Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 578
  • Karma: 8
  • PNF Webmaster
    • View Profile
    • The Pages of Now and Forever
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2003, 11:22:46 pm »
Can you post up here the command line (including the switches) you are using to start DosBox?

Personally, I think you have loaded dosbox successfully because you are seeing the "DoxBox does not play protected mode games" message.  That a warning not to try and run them.

Now, you have to actually type in the SC2 command and switches.

like
starcon2.com /g:bios

DosBox works great on XP... I'm running XP professional...
"...Dogar And Kazon Clack Their Mandibles Against One Another And Snicker With Amusement."

Offline C-myster

  • Hunam
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
  • Gloomweaver=Wir ilome=Ungwelian te
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2003, 08:18:59 am »
Thanks Chad, I don't know why but for some reasons it works just fine now.
Probably because I'v changed some parameters on my BIOS config...
The TransFormars, more then meets the eye.

Offline Fear

  • Hunam
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2003, 01:16:21 pm »
Instead of messing around with computers I bought a 3DO and the SCII 3DO version off of Ebay. It took 120$ total; about 60$ for the system and 60$ for the game.

Offline Scott_Irving

  • ZFP Peace Corps
  • Ur-Quan Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Karma: 7
  • XR Webmaster / PNF Deputy
    • View Profile
    • XR: The Movie Project
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2003, 02:55:30 pm »
True enough, though with a computer you can do all kinds of things and run the various other old dos games one might have. Auctions are kinda an iffy thing unless your willing to not worry about cost to much. Don't get me wrong I've bought many things off ebay, but I've had to bid on mutliple things often to get what I wanted in my price range, just my feelings but none the less I'd like to get a 3do and sc2 sometime but it's just not worth it for me, Ive already got enough consoles and computers around here so.

Offline Niffiwan

  • Deep Child
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: 1
  • Huffi - Muffi - Guffi
    • View Profile
Re: I have the ultimate solution
« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2003, 01:25:27 pm »
Quote
Instead of messing around with computers I bought a 3DO and the SCII 3DO version off of Ebay. It took 120$ total; about 60$ for the system and 60$ for the game.


Have you played it yet?

Are there any differences between it and the PC version (character graphics, sound, etc.)?  
The Pages of Now and Forever don't feature a lot of information on this...