Page 1 of 1

Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:34 pm
by dczanik
Hi guys!

We have an unofficial workaround for getting the game to work in lower resolutions. It's not as good looking as the game attempts to downscale the graphics, but I think it still looks better than 320x240.

In Windows:
At the command line, or by editing one of the batch files, (right click, open with, notepad):

For Full Screen at 1366x768, type in:
uqm.exe -f -o -r 1366x768

Substitute 1366x768 for whatever resolution your monitor is at.

For Window Mode @640x480:
Create a batch file, or from the command line:
uqm.exe -w -o -r 640x480

That will run the game at 640x480 without all the graphical weirdness.
The game might run a little slow as it downscales everything. It's not supported, so don't email me about problems ;) But this seems to work at multiple resolutions on my limited testing.

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:56 pm
by dczanik
Somebody asked me what does it look like when the graphics are downsized with no scaling. Well, a lot like the images below:
noscaler1.png
noscaler1.png (671.9 KiB) Viewed 13493 times
noscaler3.png
noscaler3.png (718.09 KiB) Viewed 13493 times
noscaler4.png
noscaler4.png (396.75 KiB) Viewed 13493 times
Not bad, but not exactly ideal. I still think it looks better than the original 320x240 graphics though. Of course you can still play the HD game with the original graphics too. There's still a special place in my heart for the original graphics :)

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:02 am
by dczanik
But in the beta, or possbily with " -c bilinear" added to the game like:
uqm.exe -w -o -r 1280x800 -c bilinear

The quality improves a lot.
bilinear1.png
bilinear1.png (680.76 KiB) Viewed 13493 times
bilinear3.png
bilinear3.png (754.74 KiB) Viewed 13493 times
bilinear4.png
bilinear4.png (407.3 KiB) Viewed 13493 times
But it could possibly slow down your PC using the filters. Try it and post your experience.

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:53 am
by chenjesuwizard
Tried it. It's pretty buggy. The game gets confused, I think, between the old and new graphics and so sometimes puts the new ones and sometimes the old ones (or sometimes a mixture of both, which is very weird). It also doesn't animate some comms.

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 5:50 pm
by oldlaptop
chenjesuwizard wrote:Tried it. It's pretty buggy. The game gets confused, I think, between the old and new graphics and so sometimes puts the new ones and sometimes the old ones (or sometimes a mixture of both, which is very weird). It also doesn't animate some comms.
Are you sure you're not using the (non-downscaled) hires 640x480 mode? Hires 640x480 is known to be horribly buggy, and the known issues fit your description.

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 6:11 pm
by chenjesuwizard
Sorry, I was being a real derp there. Yeh, I was.

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 5:26 pm
by tindrli
Greetings to the community. i just wanted to say that this workaround works in my case with slight problem..
I cant make the game run in full screen.
i did create .bat file entering
Cd .
uqm.exe -w -o -r 1366x768 -c bilinear

but it always start in window mode and the lower part of the screen is covered with windows taskbar. i turned on hide taskbar, and now it all ok.. but i wonder if im doing something wrong?? is it possible to make a game fullscreen in this resolution? what options needs to be checked in-game??

thanx in advance

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:59 pm
by dczanik
tindrli wrote:Greetings to the community. i just wanted to say that this workaround works in my case with slight problem..
I cant make the game run in full screen.
i did create .bat file entering
Cd .
uqm.exe -w -o -r 1366x768 -c bilinear

but it always start in window mode and the lower part of the screen is covered with windows taskbar. i turned on hide taskbar, and now it all ok.. but i wonder if im doing something wrong?? is it possible to make a game fullscreen in this resolution? what options needs to be checked in-game??

thanx in advance
Remove the -w
That forces the game to run in a window.
Also, I believe -f forces it to run full screen.

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:26 pm
by tindrli
dczanik wrote:
tindrli wrote:Greetings to the community. i just wanted to say that this workaround works in my case with slight problem..
I cant make the game run in full screen.
i did create .bat file entering
Cd .
uqm.exe -w -o -r 1366x768 -c bilinear

but it always start in window mode and the lower part of the screen is covered with windows taskbar. i turned on hide taskbar, and now it all ok.. but i wonder if im doing something wrong?? is it possible to make a game fullscreen in this resolution? what options needs to be checked in-game??

thanx in advance
Remove the -w
That forces the game to run in a window.
Also, I believe -f forces it to run full screen.

Thank you.. Now it works great

Re: Low Resolution Workaround

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 11:08 am
by Leo123
For Window Mode @640x480:
Create a batch file, or from the command line:
uqm.exe -w -o -r 640x480